[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]How Does the Virginia Point System Work?
A traffic lawyer Fairfax VA drivers trust understands that a traffic violation conviction can result in negative actions being taken against a person’s driving privileges. Traffic violation convictions often end up as points on your driving record, which can cause your auto insurance premiums to increase. If you’ve received a traffic violation, don’t hesitate to consult with a Fairfax traffic lawyer from May Law, LLP.
Virginia’s Driver Improvement Program
When a person receives a traffic violation conviction, the courts notify the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). A traffic lawyer Fairfax VA residents rely from May Law, LLP has represented many clients fighting their traffic violations. For those who decide to not fight the violation and pay the fine, or for those who decide they do not need a Fairfax traffic lawyer and end up with a conviction, that conviction is posted on their driving record by the DMV.
As a traffic lawyer in Fairfax VA may explain, these convictions may end up as demerit points on your driving record. Too many points can result in you losing your license.
The Point System
Depending on the severity of the violation, a conviction can mean the DMV will assign either three, four, or six demerit points for the offense or violation. Many other states have point systems similar to Virginia’s system, but keep in mind that the specifics of each system may change at any time. If you have additional questions about your own driving record, don’t hesitate to contact a traffic lawyer Fairfax VA residents depend on.
- If a driver (who is 18 or older) receives eight points in a 12 month period, or 12 points within a 24 month period, they may receive a warning letter from the DMV. This letter contains the potential consequences of breaking Virginia’s driving laws.
- If a driver receives 12 points in 12 months, or 18 points in 24 months, they may be required to complete a driver safety program within 90 days of notification.
- If a driver receives 18 points in 12 months, or 24 points in 24 months, the state of Virginia will suspend their driving privileges for 90 days.
The demerit point penalty system tends to be even harsher for drivers who are under 18 years of age. If a young driver receives even one point, they may be required to complete a driver safety program within 90 days of notification. If that driver receives a second traffic violation conviction, their driving privileges may be suspended for 90 days. A third conviction means they could lose their license for one year, or until they turn 18.
Let a Traffic Lawyer Fairfax VA Can Provide Fight for You
If you have received a traffic violation, you have the right to hire a lawyer and fight the charges. Remember, accumulating points on your driving record could have a negative impact on your legal ability to drive. The skilled attorneys at May Law, LLP are happy to discuss your case in detail during a complimentary case evaluation. To schedule an appointment with a trusted traffic lawyer Fairfax VA has to offer, contact us today at 703-312-0410 or fill out a contact form from our website.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]