If you were arrested for drunk driving, it’s important to discuss your case with a DUI lawyer in Fairfax, VA. A DUI is a serious charge that can have many consequences on
your life. Here are some frequently asked questions and answers about DUI cases.
How Much Information Do I Have to Provide the Police Officer Who Pulls Me Over for Drunk Driving?
If a police officer pulls your vehicle over for suspicion of drunk driving, you’re only required to show your driver’s license and proof of insurance. If the officer asks you if you’ve been drinking alcohol or where you were headed, you can politely decline to answer. Tell the officer that you can’t answer any questions with your lawyer present.
What Makes Police Officers Suspect Drunk Driving?
Police officers are trained to look for certain signs of impaired driving. They may pull drivers over if they are driving too fast or too slow, weaving between lanes or driving the wrong way.
Can You Get Charged with Drunk Driving If Your BAC is Below .08?
Yes. Many people assume that they can only be arrested for a DUI if their BAC was above the legal limit of .08. However, if you exhibit signs of drunk driving, like swerving in and out of lanes or driving too slowly, a police officer may still pull you over for suspicion of drunk driving. If you slur your words, smell like alcohol or show other signs of being drunk, the officer may still arrest you.
Should I Hire a Lawyer?
If you’re facing a DUI charge, it is definitely a wise move to hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Fairfax, VA. A lawyer can establish the best possible defense and improve your chances of a favorable outcome. A lawyer can also provide protection from the police and help you resolve your case faster.
What Are the Penalties for a DUI?
The type of penalties you face for a DUI in Virginia depend how far you were over the legal limit. For example, if your BAC was 0.14 or below, you may face up to a $2,500 fine, 12-month driver license suspension, alcohol safety action program classes and up to 12 months in jail.
What’s Implied Consent?
When you operate a motor vehicle in Virginia, you must give implied consent that you will submit a breath or blood test if you’re suspected of drinking or driving. If you refuse the test, you may face harsher penalties.