Have you been charged with a misdemeanor offense in Virginia? Contact a misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA immediately! Depending on the class of misdemeanor you were charged with, you may be facing up to a $2,500 fine or a 12-month jail sentence. Virginia takes criminal offenses very seriously, even misdemeanors! Don’t procrastinate. A skilled misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA will help you defend your rights and freedom.
In Virginia, a misdemeanor is an offense punishable by fine not exceeding $2,500, or a term not exceeding 12 months in jail, or a combination of jail and fine within these limits. Upon conviction, a criminal record follows. In Virginia, misdemeanors are classified as Class 1, 2, 3, or 4. A misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA understands the best way to navigate these kinds of charges and will help you in a difficult situation.
A misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA knows that a Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious misdemeanor in Virginia. It is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2,500, or both. Both traffic and criminal offenses can be a Class 1 misdemeanor. Examples are assault & battery, domestic violence, petit larceny, reckless driving, and DWI. If you were charged with any of these crimes, call a misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA now for a free consultation.
A Class 2 misdemeanor is less serious than Class 1, but it is still very serious. A misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA will explain to you that a Class 2 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months in jail, a fine up to $1,000, or both. Examples are possession of a schedule IV controlled substance, possession of drug paraphernalia, and aggressive driving. A misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA will defend you against these charges and fight for the best possible outcome.
Class 3 misdemeanors, while still serious, do not involve jail time. For example, a Class 3 misdemeanor is punishable by a fine up to $500, but no jail time. Possession of a schedule V controlled substance is a Class 3 misdemeanor in Virginia. Similarly, Class 4 misdemeanors also do not involve jail time. A Class 4 misdemeanor is punishable by a fine up to $250, but no jail time. Examples include public intoxication and possession of a schedule VI controlled substance.
Even if you are only charged with a Class 3 or 4 misdemeanor, however, you should still contact a misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA as soon as possible. Why? Because even though a conviction might involve only a fine, a misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA understands that this conviction will stay on your criminal record indefinitely. You may have to disclose it to potential employers, on security clearance applications, or to other individuals. It is always better to keep any misdemeanor conviction off your record if at all possible, and an experienced misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA will put you in the best possible position to defend against such charges and seek an acquittal.
Or, if acquittal is not likely, a skilled misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA may be able to negotiate a resolution of your case that would not involve a criminal conviction—for example, perhaps negotiating some kind of community service or other court disposition that will not impact your permanent criminal record. Every case is different, so there are no guarantees—but a good misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA may be the best chance you have for a good result.
If you were charged with a misdemeanor, you should take it very seriously! A criminal conviction could have lifelong consequences. Contact our experienced misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA at May Law, LLP. Our misdemeanor lawyer Arlington VA will meet with you for free with no further obligations. Call us now at (703) 312-0410 for a free consultation.